How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life Part 2

This past weekend I posted the first in a two part series entitled “How to Survive the Worst Day of Your Life.”  It was part of the devotional book I wrote 10 Minutes To Better Living: Daily Applications From the Life of ChristI decided to post it after suffering through one of  my worst professional weeks of my life.  For me personally, the situation has not improved.  However, my take on it has as I have begun working through the very steps I had written about much earlier in the devotional.

Since Part 1 was posted this weekend, I know of a few people who are suffering through one of those worst days times.  My sister-in-law lost her mother yesterday and one of my former basketball players lost her grandfather today.  You never know when one of those worst days will strike.

As promised, here is part 2 from that devotional.  If you have not yet read part one, scroll down and read it first.

How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life (Part 2)

John 18:1-19:30

Yesterday we began looking at how to survive the worst day of your life by looking at how Jesus went through the hours leading up to His death.  We saw that Jesus did not shy away from it, but faced it head on.  He took control of the situation and he leaned on God for strength.  Today we will finish looking at the way Jesus handled Himself in those final hours.

Life Lessons

As the hours drew on, Jesus’ day continued to get worse.  But He did not sulk or back down from what was happening.  Let’s look at a few more things Jesus did to survive the worst day of His life.

Endure it.  We are told in Hebrews 12:2 that because He knew the end of the story, the joy that awaited Him, Jesus endured the worst day of His life.  When we face the worst day of our life, we will endure it.  If that worst day culminates in our death, then we have the joy of Heaven to look forward to.  Stay faithful and endure the pain until we see Jesus face to face.  If that worst day involves a great loss, then rest in the fact that one day it will be over.  The pain from the loss will subside and life will continue.  It might seem like the end of your world at the moment, but if you endure through it, there will one day be smiles again.

Finish it.  The worst day of Jesus’ life ended in His death.  His terrible day finally came to an end.  There is a bit of comfort in the knowledge that when we face those worst days, there is an end to it.  It may be in death or it may be something less permanent.  But it does end.  These feelings of grief and loss will not last forever.

Use it.  Assuming our worst day does not end with us stepping through the gates of Heaven (which would automatically make it our best day), then God wants us to use the pain we felt going through the worst time of our life to help others as they go through similar circumstances.  2 Corinthians 1:3-4 tells us that God comforts us so that we can comfort others.  Once we have worked through our grief (which may take a few years), we need to take what we learned from going through it to help comfort and counsel other people.

 

Making it Personal

Looking back at what you experienced going through one of those worst days of your life, what ways do you think that you might be able to use what you went through to help someone else going through something similar.  Write down all the ways you might be able to help them.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life Part 2

  1. I experience the worst day of my life 2 weeks ago when my 23 year old daughter was drowned where she was working part time as a tour guide. Our hearts are still heavy and grieving, but we know she is with the Lord. I have seen a church where we attended many years ago meet so many of our needs. The members brought in food for a week, someone mowed our lawn others brought in groceries. Two families even let our out of town families stay at their house. I had one friend of my daughter give great words of wisdom because he 19 year old brother had died suddenly by being electrocuted. They provided food for the family after the memorial service. I would hope that I could reach out to others one day to someone else who is grieving. Right now, we are just dealing with this day by day.

    • I am so sorry for your loss. There are really no words that can be said to comfort people in times like this. I am very glad that you had members of the Body of Christ come along side you to help take care of things. The healing process is never an easy one and you never really get over it. As trite as it may sound though, over time the pain will lesson. And at that time (and it may still be a few years away), you will be ready for God to use you to comfort an help others that go through similar circumstances to help them through their grieving process. Thank you for sharing this and I will be praying for you. In fact, let me do that for you right now.

      Father, my heart goes out to Lois and her family during these weeks and months to come as they grieve over the tragic loss of her daughter. God, I want to thank you first for those 23 years of life and especially the knowledge that she is with You now. As much as it hurts here on earth to lose her, we know that she is experiencing the eternal day of rejoicing. Lord, I especially though lift up her family right now. This is a pain that no mother should have to go through and I won’t pretend to understand why you are taking Lois through this tragedy. But I can confidently say, Lord, that the Psalmist said in Ps. 37, that I have never seen the righteous forsaken. And you have not forsaken Lois. Lord, draw so near to her right now that she can literally feel your abiding presence. Show Yourself as the great comforting God that you are. And give her strength one day at a time to get up and move. Lord, I pray that her pain will be lessened each day and that sometime she can use the pain she has gone through to help point others to you. In Jesus name, Amen.

  2. I experienced the worst day of my life 2 weeks ago when my 23 year old daughter was drowned where she was working part time as a tour guide. Our hearts are still heavy and grieving, but we know she is with the Lord. I have seen a church where we attended many years ago meet so many of our needs. The members brought in food for a week, someone mowed our lawn others brought in groceries. Two families even let our out of town families stay at their house. I had one friend of my daughter give great words of wisdom because he 19 year old brother had died suddenly by being electrocuted. They provided food for the family after the memorial service. I would hope that I could reach out to others one day to someone else who is grieving. Right now, we are just dealing with this day by day.

Leave a Reply

