How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life

  Sometimes it pays to actually take your own advice.  Althought this past week will probably not go into the archives of my life as the absolutely worst day of my life, on a professional level it ranks very high on the list.  Each day of this past week, I had my bosses working extra hard to set me up for failure.  Quite seriously I was appalled at some of the stunts they pulled and some of the things they came up with to try to make my life absolutely miserable.

I came home each day completely stressed with my blood pressure beginning to skyrocket (literally – I went to the doctor Friday afternoon).  But then today, God reminded me of something I had written in the devotional book, 10 Minutes to Better Living: Daily Applications From the Life of Christ. 

As I looked into my own words, I could sense God asking me if I really believed all the things I wrote.  If I did, then I had the tools in front of me to not only survive this terrible week, the next few weeks do not look any more promising, but to maybe even actually use it for my own growth.

I thought I would share those very thoughts from my devotional, 10 Minutes to Better Living: Daily Applications From the Life of Christ on this blog.  It will cover two days worth of writing.  Part two is also available on my blog.

How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life (Part 1)

John 18:1-19:30

 

All His life, Jesus knew how it would end.  He knew why He had come to earth and He knew the pain, both physically and spiritually, He would face during the final hours of His life.  He would be betrayed by a friend, arrested under false accusations, beaten within moments of death, humiliated in front of the world, and die a very painful death.  It was destined to easily be the worst day of His life.

Life Lessons

We all will face the worst day in our lives sometime (or several times).  It might be the death of a loved one, or the loss of someone or something.  It might be the news of a terminal illness or any number of periods in our life where life just reaches us and smacks us in the face with devastating news.  Those times are never easy to handle, but the good news is that Jesus sets the example of what we should do during those worst days of our lives in order to survive it.  We will look at the first part of what Jesus did today.

  1. He faced it head on.   When the soldiers came to arrest Him, Jesus admitted right away that He was the one they were looking for.  He didn’t run from it or try to hide.  He faced it straight on.  When those worst times hit us, it never does any good to try to live in denial of what is happening.  At best, it will just prolong the agony.  Do what Jesus did.  Face it.  It is there.  We cannot deny it or ignore it.
  2. Take control of the situation.  When the soldiers began to arrest Jesus, Peter drew his sword and lopped off the ear of one of the soldiers.  At that moment, a free for all could have broken out resulting in many deaths.  But Jesus took control of the situation, turned Himself in, and miraculously put the ear back on the soldier.  When we face the worst day of our life, either we should take control of the situation ourselves or in some cases, designate someone else to do it.  For instance, if your worst day involves a death of a family member, then it would be appropriate to designate someone else to answer the door and take all phone calls or you.  They can relay messages to you without you having to rehash everything over and over again.
  3. Lean on Jesus.  In the hours immediately following His arrest, all of Jesus’ disciples fled.  Even Peter very openly denied Him.  Jesus no long had any friends around Him to comfort Him.  He had no one but Himself.  Usually when we are facing the worst day of our life, we do have friends and family to rely on.  But at the same time, we need to lean on Jesus as He alone can empathize with us fully.

 

Making it Personal

Write briefly about a time that could classify as the worst day of your life.  Write only as many details as you feel comfortable with.

Were you able to face it, take control of the situation as much as possible, and did you lean on Jesus to help give you strength?

Part 2 will be available Monday evening.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “How To Survive the Worst Day of Your Life

  1. indr

    Wonderful points on this very real issue. However, I want to say that there i a very crucial lession that we need to learn on how the Lord (Jesus) handled the most difficult time/day ever in Gethsemane. He started with a deep travailing and prayer full of agony. (Very well dipicted on the first few minutes of the Passion of the Christ).That I believe was what helped him to face the danger resolutely and calmly. And as we read, an angel wsa also sent from the father (who saw his travailing ) to encourage him in his agony. There are times which could be impossible for us to face alone. We need a hand to carry us through, keep us sane and whole. Lets remeber to travail and intercede even for our own and for our loved ones or brothers/sisters when we see danger coming close.

    • Thank you for your comments and you are so right in your statements about prayer. I wrote this devotional based on a sermon I preached several years ago. Should I ever preach it again, I will most definitely include the prayer and travaling we saw with Christ in the Garden.

  2. As you mentioned Part 1 of How to survive the worst day(s) of my life, there are many people upon whom we can lean. Unfortunately the 2 friends I needed the most failed me: I called to inform them my dad died yet they chose not to come over and help me. I have, of course, forgiven them but the pain remains.

    Thankfully others took over for us; making the phone calls to extended family, brought us healthy finger food after noticing we weren’t eating and simply having them there. Had we been alone in the days following my dads death, we would have had many more consecutive “…Worst days of our life.”

    Two writings also helped me through my dad’s death: One being a letter I wrote to him and put inside his suit jacket at the funeral home. I would suggest everyone write a letter to their loved one who was just called home and send it with them. Writing it was difficult but quite cathartic.

    The second was written a long time ago – Footprints in the sand. I had frequently seen ‘Footprints’ over the years but this was the first time I had to learn to lean on The Lord (Jesus) and to let Him carry me through ‘The Worst Day of My Life’. Learning to lean on Him, on anyone, was a skill I needed to learn and still need to use.* It is very humbling.

    So now when I see “Footprints…”, I smile but more for knowing its truth than for its beauty. (Ironically just today I ordered a “Footprints in the Sand” ring).

    *I had to relearn to ask close family, extended family, friends and even neighbors for rides to/from Physical Therapy, doctor appointments, rides to the various medical facilities and Hospitals. Even grocery shopping and lawn care. Leaning was required simply to survive. All of this started when I was 39 and the Soc. Sec. Disability Administration declared me disabled at age 41 – it was bittersweet. And continues today as I recover from my 3rd surgery, less than 12 months after my 2nd surgery. Humble, humble, lean, lean and relearn all my limitations. Even having to cancel fun events because my pain has shot sky high again. Single sets of footprints all over my past.

    In closing, many people I do not know will be in my prayers and I will pray they remember there are people we cannot see but do feel: the strongest help available to us all. Thank you for reading my diatribe. May God Bless you all.

    • Thank you for sharing with me some of your struggles and how God provided ways to help you get through those very difficult times in your life. Surviving the worst day of your life is never going to be easy, no matter what kind of support group we have to help us. But it does make it a bit easier. Most all of us will “survive” that worst day, though it may take even a few years before we realized we did survive. The question then becomes, “what do we do with with what we went through?” I believe you have seen some of that answer in the fact that you want to pray for others (even ones you don’t know) who are going through these times.

      Steve

Leave a Reply

