My Proposal Poem on Valentines Day

  A dozen years ago, Valentines Day, 2000, I handed my girlfriend a poem I had written for her and watched in anticipation as her eyes scanned each line and verse.   I had already committed the poem to memory so in my mind I was quoting each line as she was reading it in her head.

After what seemed to be an eternity, I knew she was finally nearing the end.   While she was reading the last few lines, I slipped out of my chair and got on one knee with the engagement ring in hand.  I am very proud and honored to say that she did say yes.

At that time in my life, I was serving as a youth pastor and since Amy was going to be out of town for the next week on business, we hid our engagement from everyone but our family.  We wanted to surprise the youth group with the annoucement in a very special way.   A week later, I was speaking to the youth group and then broke out in a song.  The words were the very same poem I had given Amy over a week before.  Imagine the surprise on the kids faces when it was beginning to dawn on them that I was proposing to her before their very eyes.  Of course, it wasn’t the actual proposal.  But at the time, they did not know that.

Here is the poem I wrote then sang to her 12 years ago.

Amy, I love you

I pray you love me

Yet I will always love you

For all Eternity.

You are so wonderful

You’re living in my dream.

For you are the one now

That makes my heart to sing.

.

Amy, I love you.

I’ve looked all my life

For the perfect woman

Who I could call my wife.

You are that woman

To good to be true.

So let me take this moment

To say that I love you.

.

Amy, I love you.

From this moment on.

For your love’s the reason

I sing to you this song.

You set my love a fire

You set my heart-song free.

That’s why I want to ask you,

“Will you marry me?”

Happy Valentines Day, Amy.   I love you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Proposal Poem on Valentines Day

  1. What a nice romantic way to express your love.

Leave a Reply

